… And sometimes I just sits

That title is from one of my favourite Leunig cartoons, of a character sitting on a fence, with the caption,

Sometimes I just sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits

Today was a beautiful sunny day so I opened all the windows to air out the house, and sat on the porch in the sun with a cup of coffee reading  some design magazines. 

While I was reading, a neighbour walked past, looked up at me and said, “that looks like perfection”. And I replied, “you know, I think it might be”. 

It struck me that, until she said it, I hadn’t even thought about it.  

Which got me thinking a bit about how much I fail to notice the great moments that make up much of my day. Sitting in the sun, reading, drinking a cup of coffee — that to me is a state of bliss that during the working week I yearn for. And there I was in the middle of it and not aware I’d got there. 

That’s not all bad though, I decided. I was enjoying it, and that was probably just as important if not more so. I was immersed in the pleasure of it. It would surely be worse to have yearned for it all week then failed to enjoy it.

