Do what you can

The trouble with adding a positive adjective to your blog title is that it readily makes a hypocrit of you. I’m living and I’m alone, but not well.

I had a bad week. I have been extremely tired, and had to spend three days in bed. I’ve struggled to get up in the mornings and struggled to keep going during the day. On Friday I walked into town to get my routine blood tests and was so tired I needed to rest on a park bench on the way back.

I’m not sure what to do to turn things around either. But as I lay there feeling despondent I was reminded of those wise words someone said to me long ago : “Do what you can, and not what you can’t.”

What I could do was have a hot bath with Epsom salts. For all that I am tired, I’ve not felt relaxed, and the bath left me feeling wonderfully relaxed. I had a very good sleep, unbroken for once, and I was able to get out of bed and do necessities like laundry.

Sometimes, lowering expectations is the way to go. If “living well” means doing what I can, perhaps I’m not so hypocritical after all.

