Working home alone

Finally, finally, work provided me with a laptop so I can work from home one day a week. I’ve been waiting for this for months and last Friday I got my first outing. Or should that be inning?

I woke up feeling very relaxed on Friday morning. It’s not as if I rush around in a frenzy normally, but knowing I didn’t have to go anywhere meant I could go at my own pace. It was lovely being able to put on jeans instead of work clothes, and take time to brew coffee in my stovetop espresso maker, a ritual I normally save for the weekend. 

I fired up the laptop, the VPN worked seamlessly, and I sat at my dining table and got into it. Next thing I knew I was feeling hungry and realised it was midday. I’d been so engrossed and so uninterrupted I’d completely lost track of time. It was wonderful. 

I hadn’t fully appreciated quite how stressed I get at work from the constant noise and interruptions. At home, my phone rang once, a call I was expecting relating to the project I was working on. The rest of the time I was concentrating on one task after another. By the time 5pm came I’d completed a project that had been hanging around for months, and dealt with three “I need this urgently” items. That’s about 2 normal days work. 

More importantly, I felt happy. I had spent an entire day working in a way that suits me and I had the output to show for it. It’s crazy to think that I spend 80% of my work week in an environment that is counterproductive. 

I have wondered in the past about going into business for myself and working from home permanently. But I worried that I would become a complete recluse. I never worried that I wouldn’t get anything done at home – I’m not a procrastinator when it comes to work – but I did worry I’d cease to have any contact with people. At least going to the office means I get to talk to people most days of the week. That’s good for me. It’s hard for me to seek out company so having it forced on me is no bad thing. 

But it’s so, so good to have even one day a week when I don’t have to cope with other people. 

